Our website has recently been updated. Make use of the search to quickly find what you are looking for.

MacLoran Farm

Industry Blueprint Working Group Changes

The Industry Blueprint Working Group is an invaluable source of expertise and dedication to our sector. Elke Hocking has been appointed the Chair of the SA Beef and Sheep Industry Blueprint Working Group (and SALRC SA Regional Chair), succeeding Jane Kellock, who passionately led the Industry Blueprints for two terms. Elke, based in Lucindale, is committed to helping producers to profitably and sustainably produce top-quality beef and lamb. Her focus includes adopting new technology, implementing best practice production systems, engaging in value-based trading, and maintaining a positive, professional approach to business. Elke, a private livestock consultant, runs a prime lamb and beef cattle enterprise with her husband and has farming interests on the Fleurieu Peninsula and Kangaroo Island.

The Blueprint Working Group welcomes in addition two new members, including Matt Scharkie, who strengthens the wool sector representation. Matt's experience encompasses managing a self-replacing Merino flock and establishing a sustainable training centre for shearers. Sandy Nott, from the Fleurieu Peninsula, brings valuable expertise in Hereford and Angus beef breeding and a belief in improved genetics for livestock and pasture species.

The Industry Blueprint Working Group is distinctive for representing the entire value chain and incorporating the SALRC SA Regional Committee. Notably, Matt and Sandy are among the seven red meat producers holding dual roles. Additionally, experienced livestock advisors Deb Scammell and Anne Collins join the group.

The collective wealth of experience within the Blueprint Working Group contributes to sector success. Special recognition goes to Seth Cooper and Deb Scammell in the recent SALRC Annual Awards.

Livestock SA extends gratitude to outgoing members Jane Kellock, Allan Piggott, Josh Cousins, Emily Mellor, Dr Emily Buddle, and Dr Mary Carr, acknowledging their significant contributions.

Published: 26 October 2023

Industry Development:

Industry Blueprints