Our website has recently been updated. Make use of the search to quickly find what you are looking for.

MacLoran Farm

Livestock SA welcomes new board members at 2019 AGM

Livestock SA has welcomed the appointment of three new and three existing board members at its AGM this week, who all bring a broad range of experience and geographic diversity to its new board.

The AGM formed part of the GROWING SA event held at Hahndorf this week.

Livestock SA President Joe Keynes welcomed the successful candidates in Livestock SA’s sixth board member election. Of the seven nominations received, the six successful candidates include three returned board members and three new members:

  • Mark Dennis, Koppio
  • Gillian Fennell, Lambina Station, Marla
  • Allan Piggott, Moorlands
  • Samantha Neumann, Freeling (new member)
  • Glen Tilley, Kapunda (new member)
  • Richard Reedy, Murray Bridge (new member)

These members join those continuing for the second of their two-year term including Mr Keynes, Penny Schulz, Bill Nosworthy and Jamie Heinrich.

Board members Kate McLachlan, Richard Halliday and Amanda Giles did not re-nominate.

Mr Keynes said Livestock SA acknowledged the contribution of producers who supported the election process, including Work Health and Safety consultant Alex Thomas.

“It’s important that people continue to put their hand up and become involved to ensure Livestock SA remains a strong and independent voice for SA producers and this is what all of our candidates have done,” Mr Keynes said.

“I would also like to acknowledge Kate, Richard and Amanda for their roles as Livestock SA board members. In particular I would like to thank Richard for his role as the inaugural President of Livestock SA. Richard worked tirelessly to set up Livestock SA, and the strength of this organisation is due to much of this work that he, and others, did when Livestock SA was founded.

“Besides Livestock SA Richard has also represented SA tirelessly, as a member and President of WoolProducers Australia. We thank him for his long service to industry.

“While Amanda only became a member of the board last year, she had been an ex-officio member of the board since 2016 as Livestock SA’s representative on the Cattle Council of Australia. Kate has been a board member for the past two years.”

About 140 producers and industry stakeholders attended day one of the GROWING SA event, which included the Livestock SA AGM at Hahndorf.

It featured annual reports from President Joe Keynes, Treasurer Gillian Fennell, CEO Andrew Curtis and the chair of the SA Sheep Advisory Group, vice chair of the SA Cattle Advisory Group and a report on the SA Dog Fence rebuild.

Mr Keynes said Livestock SA had a very successful year past 12 months – with membership continuing to grow to number more than 3500.

It was the first contested election since 2016, with 18 percent of members voting.

Published: 26 August 2019