Our website has recently been updated. Make use of the search to quickly find what you are looking for.


Livestock SA AGM and Industry Dinner a resounding success

Livestock producers came together last week for the Livestock SA Annual General Meeting and Industry Dinner at the Adelaide Pavilion.

The AGM, which took place earlier in the evening, provided an opportunity for members to assess the performance of the organisation. Achievements and challenges through the 2023 financial year were outlined, and those for the year ahead identified.

Allan Piggott, Gillian Fennell, Samantha Neumann, Glen Tilley and Mark Dennis were all returned as directors by members to complete the organisation’s governance and structural review.

In a short board meeting following the AGM, Joe Keynes was reappointed President, Allan Piggott Vice President, and Gillian Fennell Treasurer of the Association. Samantha Neumann was also reappointed to the Executive Committee.

The Annual Livestock Industry Dinner followed the AGM, bringing together red meat and wool producers and industry stakeholders in a convivial atmosphere to discuss the year’s progress and upcoming challenges and opportunities.

Agriculture Minister, Clare Scriven opened the dinner and outlined the government’s initiatives to support the livestock industry, such as investing in biosecurity, infrastructure, research and extension, and her optimism for the future of the industry.

This year’s dinner launched the inaugural On Farm Biosecurity Farmer of the Year award for South Australian red meat and wool producers, which was won by Inverbrackie Border Leicester Stud with Nomad Farms the runner up.

Tributes were paid to retiring Chief Veterinary Officer, Mary Carr for her 15 years’ service to the industry, and retiring Industry Blueprint Chair Jane Kellock who stands down after two terms. Other outgoing Blueprint members Allan Piggott, Josh Cousins, Emily Mellor, Dr Emily Buddle, Dr Mary Carr were also acknowledged and thanked for their contributions to the industry.

Elke Hocking was appointed the new Industry Blueprint Chair and new members Matt Scharkie, Sandy Nott, Deb Scammell and Anne Collins were also welcomed.

The 2023 winner of the ‘Future Livestock Leaders Program’, Lucy Bright was announced. This was the second year Livestock SA has run this immersive program designed to identify and foster future industry leaders.

Guest speaker Maggie MacKellar captivated dinner attendees with her poetic exploration of life on a Tasmanian Merino sheep property.


Media Contact:

Hannah Trevilyan, Communications and Membership Manager, 08 8297 2299

Published: 20 November 2023